Fatal car accidents happen more often than many people realize - and Georgia is no exception. The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety estimates that here were 29,989 fatal motor vehicle crashes in the United States in 2014 - and 1,080 of them happened in Georgia. That puts the state above the national average at 11.5 deaths per 100,000 people.
If you were injured or lost a loved one in an auto accident, the emotional distress can make it difficult to consider the legal and financial implications. After any injury accident, you must call the police and contact your insurance company. Then, call a car accident lawyer to discuss your case.
If your collision happened in Georgia, an Atlanta personal-injury attorney from The Finnell Firm can evaluate your crash, interview witnesses, gather evidence and help you pursue the maximum settlement.
Call 866-464-4017 today to schedule a consultation. You can also learn more about car accident injury claims by visiting USAttorneys.com.
Read on to learn about Georgia's modified comparative negligence rules:
Georgia Is a Modified Comparative Negligence State
Each state has unique laws that govern auto insurance. These laws fall into two broad categories: fault and no-fault insurance laws. In a "no-fault" model, the insurance company of each party in an accident will pay for its own policyholder's damages regardless of who actually caused the crash.
Georgia is a fault state that uses "modified comparative fault" (or modified comparative negligence) laws, which means that the insurance company of the person who caused the accident will be the initial source of compensation for victims' medical bills, lost income and other damages. However, you can only claim compensation that is proportional to your fault in causing the accident.
For example, if you suffer $20,000 in medical bills and you were found to be 20 percent at fault for causing the accident, then you would only be entitled to $16,000. You would not be able to recover compensation if you were at least 50 percent at fault for causing the crash.
What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Georgia?
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, all drivers in Georgia must meet these minimum insurance requirements:
· Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person, $50,000 for several people in a collision
· Property damage liability: $25,000 for one accident
You should also consider adding additional coverage such as:
· Rental car coverage;
· Comprehensive insurance, which pays for damages as the result of vandalism and other non accident-related damages;
· Collision insurance, which pays for damages to your vehicle after an accident;
· Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage;
· And funeral and medical service coverage.
If you were injured by a negligent driver in Georgia, contact The Finnell Firm. Robert Finnell is a personal-injury attorney in Atlanta who will guide you through the claims process.
Mr. Finnell can help you avoid mistakes such as overlooking certain damages, accepting a low settlement, signing a general release or unknowingly admitting fault to insurance adjusters. Call 866-464-4017 to schedule a free initial consultation.